Space-Based Solar Power

a public discussion sponsored by the Space Frontier Foundation

Archive for August 31st, 2008

Obtaining Orbital Parking Slots and Frequencies

Posted by Coyote on August 31, 2008

I was asked two interesting questions yesterday by people interested in commercial development of space-based solar power (SBSP):

  1. How would a company obtain a geostationary parking slot for a SBSP satellite?
  2. How would a company obtain a license to broadcast power from space over radio frequencies?

Excellent questions. Here are the answers that I slapped together from the Internet. (Special thanks to Maldivian Digital, and Wikipedia for having some well researched info posted on their sites!) Please check my work and let me know if I’ve embarrassed myself in public (again):

Read the rest of this entry »

Posted in Commercial Challenges to Space-Based Solar Power, Legal Challenges for Space-Based Solar Power, Political Challenges to Space-Based Solar Power, Study-Related, Technical Challenges to Space-Based Solar Power | 6 Comments »

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.